Home > PHP > Beginners tips for form processing with PHP

Beginners tips for form processing with PHP


I remember when first starting with the whole PHP / Web development scene that processing forms was a real hassle. This was back in the day when php_global_vars was still accepted as the “in” thing and you had to use each form variable as php variable. I only found out about $_GET (or as it was $HTTP_GET_VARS) later on, much to my consternation.

I did however, come up with a workaround at the time, and it’s stuck with me ever since. I fully realise that the PHP superglobals make this method somewhat redundant, but I still find it useful in larger forms, especially when you’re trying to group related form variables.

The basic idea is to add each form variable to an array. In my case this array is usually called “items”. For instance, I have a standard login form with the usual login and password fields. I define each field using the following method : <input type=”text” name=”items[login]” value=”” />  – for the novices out there, notice the “items[login]” bit. What this does is assign the value for “login” to the “items” array. This array is then accessed via the $_GET[“items”] or $_POST[“items”] superglobals. Of course you can have multi-dimensional arrays – for example : <input type=”text” name=”items[user][login]” /> and so on and so forth.

Now the really useful part comes in when you are looking to sanitize only certain parts of your user input (yes I’ve had instances where I purposely didn’t want to sanitize incoming data). For a good tutorial on how to sanitize user input  – try this one . You can also assign input data to a session variable more easily. I.e $_SESSION[“userdata”] = $_GET[“items”][“user”].

Lately, I’ve found this method extremely useful when binding form data to my MVC model data. So lets say we have a form where a user can edit his/her profile. In addition, this form also has space for the user to edit his password. Usually, password and profile information is stored in 2 separate tables. Which means that I would use “user[]” for the password fields (since you need a “confirm password” field aswell) and I would use “profile[]” for the user’s profile data. Then once inside the PHP script, I can then bind $_GET[“user”] to my user model, and $_GET[“profile”] to my userProfile model. The only constraint then is making sure the form field matches a model field.

I admittedly haven’t seen this method being used all that often, and it does make me wonder if it goes against some “best practice” that I’m ignorant of, or perhaps I’m just way ahead of my time 😉

Either way, hopefully it can be of some help to someone out there. I do promise though, that when I’ve improved my blogging and therefore writing skills, I’ll revisit this post and make it more “noob” friendly.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

