Home > Flex, PHP > Flex / PHP Gallery

Flex / PHP Gallery


Just finished the conversion of a PHP / HTML based gallery module I wrote quite a while ago to a Flex based interface.

I used the Mate Flex Framework’s “Flickrbook” example as the basis and modified it to interact with my AMFPHP gateway script instead of the Flickr API.

I also modified some aspects of the user interface such as adding a category combobox to the search (populated from the database of course and includes sub-categories). I then converted the main image to the SuperImage component instead and added the photograph title and description to the main panel.

The biggest issue I had was setting the default selectedIndex for the thumbnail TileList as discussed in a previous post. That and learning how the Mate Framework functions, which I’m really impressed with.

All in all, it took me about 26 hours in total, including researching different examples, frameworks, installing the PHP gateway etc. Being pretty new to Flex I don’t think that’s too bad.

AMFPHP was dead easy though – if that took me more than 2 hours in total (including the writing of the gallery gateway class) it was plenty.

The next phase will be to convert the gallery’s admin interface to Flex as well. I’ve already done a file upload manager, so it should be a piece of cake.

You can view an example of the gallery here. Just click on the “View Gallery” link.

Categories: Flex, PHP Tags: , , , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

